ASSOCIATION BUSINESS

AD INTERIM BUSINESS OF THE COUNCIL OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION, 1928-1929.

Office of the Secretary, 10 West Chase Street, Baltimore, Md.

LETTER NO. 8.

May 11, 1929.

To the Members of the Council:

- 66. Election of Members. Motions Nos. 22 and 23 (See Council Letter No. 7, pages 425 and 426) have been carried and applicants for membership numbered 116 to 157, inclusive, and applicants for membership numbered H-55 to H-79, inclusive, are declared elected.
- 67. Life Membership. In accordance with Article IV of Chapter IX of the By-Laws, Robert Audley Sloss of Dannemora, N. Y., has become a Life Member through the payment of \$25.00.
- 68. Text of N. F. V. The following communication has been received from Chairman DuMez of the Committee on Publications:

"I have gone over the proof sheets of 'Practical Materia Medica,' edited by Dr. Clayton S. Smith and Helen L. Wikoff and published by Lea and Febiger, and as Chairman of the Publications Committee I recommend that permission to use portions of the NATIONAL FORMULARY V text for comment in this book be granted and that a fee of \$5.00 be charged for this purpose. Please present this to the Council for a vote."

(Motion No. 24) It is moved by DuMez that Lea & Febiger of Philadelphia be given permission to use portions of the text of the N. F. V in a "Practical Materia Medica" by Clayton S. Smith and Helen L. Wikoff, and at the usual charge of \$5.00.

69. Complimentary Copies of the Pharmaceutical Recipe Book, First Edition. Chairman DuMez of the Committee on Publications recommends, with the approval of Chairman Lascoff, that a copy of this publication with the name stamped on the cover, be sent to the following who are either members of the Committee on Recipe Book or have rendered valuable assistance in connection with the preparation of the first edition:

J. Leon Lascoff
E. N. Gathercoal
P. Henry Utech

Ivor Griffith H. L. Meredith

H. L. Meredit W. W. Horne H. A. Langenhan W. H. Glover W. L. Scoville R. R. Gerstner I. A. Becker

S. L. Hilton

I. A. Becker
M. A. Davis
Robert P. Fischelis
William Gray
E. Fullerton Cook

E. G. Eberle E. F. Kelly F. W. Nitardy
Otto Raubenheimer
F. B. Kilmer
C. P. Wimmer
J. K. Thum
C. J. Clayton
C. M. Roehr
Bernard Fantus
L. D. Havenhill
Cornelius Osseward

A. G. DuMez

(Motion No. 25) It is moved by DuMez that a complimentary copy of the Pharmaceutical Recipe Book, First Edition, be sent to each person whose name appears in the list above.

70. Complimentary Copies of the Pharmaceutical Recipe Book, First Edition. It has been suggested that a complimentary copy of this publication be sent to a number of pharmaceutical publications for review as this will bring the publication to the attention of their readers.

(Motion No. 26) It is moved by DuMez that complimentary copies of the Pharmaceutical Recipe Book be sent to a number of publications for review.

71. Committee on Cosmetics. In accordance with Resolution No. 7 adopted at the last annual meeting, President Jones has appointed the following as members of this committee:

Geo. D. Beal, Chairman, Pittsburgh, Pa.

C. H. LaWall, Philadelphia, Pa.

A. G. DuMez, Baltimore, Md.

F. W. Nitardy, Brooklyn, N. Y. Bernard Fantus, Chicago, Ill.

72. Committee to Nominate the Members of the Committee on National Formulary. In accordance with the action of the Council authorizing the appointment of this committee of the Council, Chairman Hilton has appointed the following on the committee:

J. A. Koch, Chairman, Pittsburgh, Pa.

D. F. Jones, Watertown, S. Dak.

H. V. Arny, New York, N. Y.

H. C. Christensen, Chicago, Ill.

C. H. LaWall, Philadelphia, Pa.

- A. G. DuMez, Baltimore, Md.
- E. F. Kelly, Baltimore, Md.

73. Applicants for Membership. The following applications properly endorsed and accompanied by the first year's dues have been received:

No. 158, M. E. Berkowitz, U. S. Marine Hospital, 67 Hudson St., New York, N. Y.; No. 159, William L. Buttz, 123 So. Main St., Aberdeen, S. Dak.; No. 160, Wm. M. Decker, Pres., Hygeia Nursing Bottle Co., Inc., Lancaster, N. Y.; No. 161, Manuel Dondé, Popocatepetl 20, Mexico, D. F., Mexico; No. 162, Miguel Fernandez Garrido, Calzada 93, Vedado, Habana, Cuba; No. 163, Ralph E. Harriger, Ridgefield, Wash.; No. 164, William Austin Kelly, 18th and Buttonwood St., Philadelphia, Pa.; No. 165, Carl William Kraft, 5012 22nd Ave., N. E., Seattle, Wash.; No. 166, George Black Laing, 77 Hartley Road, Lansdowne, Pa.; No. 167, Arthur Kenneth Leberknight, Broad and Ontario Sts., Philadelphia, Pa.; No. 168, William Lee Lenderman, 1520 Pike Ave., Ensley, Ala.; No. 169, John Oran Martin, 5215 18th St., N. E., Seattle, Wash.; No. 170, James C. Mayers, 301 E. Girard Ave., Philadelphia, Pa.; No. 171, Joseph Millett, P. O. Box 129, Pen-Mar, Md.; No. 172, Frederick W. Misch, c/o Smith-Dorsey Company, Lincoln, Neb.; No. 173, J. H. Pearson, Webster, S. Dak.; No. 174, C. J. Piaskowski, 7343 McGraw Ave., Detroit, Mich.; No. 175, Mark T. Piaskowski, 7408 Michigan Ave., Detroit, Mich.; No. 176. Leonard J. Piccoli, 88 E. 208th St., New York, N. Y.; No. 177, Eugene Renaud, 13100 Ford Road, Dearborn, Mich.; No. 178, Hugo Rieve, 9525 Bustleton Ave., Philadelphia, Pa.; No. 179, Aaron R. Robinson, 199-201 N. 12th St., Newark, N. J.; No. 180, Frank H. Scarf, 646 Y. M. C. A. Bldg., Detroit, Mich.; No. 181, Harry S. Schneider, 3835 Scotten Ave., Detroit, Mich.; No. 182, George E. Sherman, Huron, S. Dak.; No. 183,

G. W. Sigurdson, 214 N. 14th St., Corvallis, Oreg.; No. 184, William L. Slate, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven, Conn.; No. 185, Ralph Madison Sperry, 507 Parkside Drive, Toronto, Ont.; No. 186, Nikolai Veiderpass, Ruutli 2, Tartu, Estonia; No. 187, R. N. White, c/o Othine Laboratories, Inc., Buffalo, N. Y.; No. 188, Edwin V. Woolley, 312 E. Main St., Streator, Ill.

(Motion No. 27) Vote on applications for active membership in the American Pharmaceutical Association.

74. Applicants for Membership on Account of Contributions to the Headquarters Building Fund. The following non-members of the A. Ph. A. have pledged \$25.00 or more to the Headquarters Building Fund and have made a cash payment of \$5.00 or more. They are entitled to membership and you are requested to vote on the applications which have been properly endorsed.

H-80, Peter Lazarus Achilson, 2380 8th Ave., New York, N. Y.; H-81, Mary Thelma Bottom, 640 N. 28th St., East St. Louis, Ill.; H-82, J. Raymond Conley, 9 Monroe St., Lockport, N. Y.; H-83, Melvin Durkee, 1302 E. Virginia St., Evansville, Ind.; H-84, Janet Glienke, 892 46th St., Milwaukee, Wis.; H-85, William Garrison Hand, Jr., 229 Third Ave., Dayton, Ky.; H-86, Francis J. Hiskey, 300 S. Gramercy Pl., Los Angeles, Cal.; H-87, Bernard Thomas Kearns, 306 E. Woodland Ave., Fort Wayne, Ind.; H-88, Julius Dominick Lombardi, 244 Westchester Ave., Mount Vernon, N. Y.; H-89, Francisco Margo, c/o City Drug Store, Brownsville, Tex.; H-90, Harry Samuels, 112-24 Blvd., Rockaway Park, L. I., N. Y.; H-91, Frank M. Spero, 90-92 Roosevelt St., New York, N. Y.; H-92, Leslie Tester, Waconia, Minn.

(Motion No. 28) Vote on applications of contributors to the Headquarters Building Fund for membership in the American Pharmaceutical Association.

E. F. KELLY, Secretary.

COMMITTEE ON PHARMACOGNOSY AND PHARMACEUTICAL BOTANY OF NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL.

All of the members of the Committee on Pharmacognosy and Pharmaceutical Botany of the National Research Council have been reappointed for the coming year. They include H. H. Rusby, W. W. Stockberger, E. N. Gathercoal, E. L. Newcomb and Heber W. Youngken who succeeds himself as chairman. Contributions for the research Fund of the Committee have been received from the H. K. Mulford Co., the Illinois State Pharmaceutical Association, the Lambert Chemical Co., the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and the Carlton and Hovey Co.